top of page

Do you or someone you know

need a Voter ID

for the 2024 election?

Go to the Rutherford County Board of Elections on 298 Fairground Rd. in Spindale, Monday—Friday, 8:30-5. 


They will ask for your name, address,

date of birth, and the last 4 digits of your

social security number. 


It's free and your photo ID 

will last for 10 years! 

Be ready to

VOTE BLUE in 2024

with your Photo ID.

voter id image.jpg

State Party Chair, Anderson Clayton in Rutherford County
on 10/12/23 for Dems General Meeting!







The Democratic Party of
Rutherford Cou
nty, North Carolina


Welcome! We are the Rutherford County Democratic Party, the chartered affiliate of the North Carolina Democratic Party. We represent the political interests of Rutherford County Democrats, not only through direct political action, but also through community service.  

To Receive email updates, send your name as it appears on your voter registration and a phone number to: 


The party headquarters is located at 142 West Main St., Forest City 28043



Our mailing address is:

Rutherford County Democratic Party
PO Box 125
Forest City, NC 28043

(Don't send anything to the street address; there is no mail delivery there.)


The governing body of the Rutherford County Democratic Party is its Executive Committee, which consists of: 

  • The Officers of the Executive Board

  • The Precinct Chairs and Vice-Chairs

  • The Presidents of any auxiliary clubs

  • All current Democratic elected officials in the county

colage for website  changed 2.jpg
Screen Shot 2023-04-19 at 7.47.39 AM.png

The 2021-2023 RCDP Executive Committee with NC Senate Candidate, Cheri Beasley. 

Precinct Information

The 17 Rutherford County Democratic Precincts each select three officers: Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary. Precincts are not allowed to raise or spend money independently, so there is no treasurer function for the Precincts. The officers serve for two-year terms, and are elected at annual precinct meetings in odd-numbered years, at a date specified by the state party but usually in February or March.

Screen Shot 2023-06-18 at 8.00.21 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-06-18 at 8.00.39 PM.png

Rutherford County Officials 
Board of County Commissioners: A policy making body which sets the budget for operations.

Bryan King, Chairman
Alan Toney, Vice Chairmain
Greg Lovelace
Eddie Holland 

Aaron Ellenburg  

Clerk of Court 
Steve H. Owens

Registrar of Deeds
Rachel Thomas

Board of Elections 
Every two years the Board of Elections becomes the most important County agency in terms of Rutherford County politics. It's where you register to vote, where candidates register to run for office and runs the elections. 

Mailing Address
Rutherford County Board of Elections 

P.O. Box 927
Rutherfordton, NC 28139

Physical Address
298 Fairground Rd.
Spindale, NC 28160 

Board Members 
Frances Lockwood
Gail Parton
Brian King 
Linda Smith
Georgia Steele

Dawn Lovelace is the Director of Elections and oversees the county employees and poll workers who run the elections. 


bottom of page